Organization

The Bundeskanzler-Helmut-Schmidt-Stiftung is managed by a board of trustees. It is made up of six members plus six deputies appointed for five years by the Federal President. These representatives of politics and wider society were associated with Helmut Schmidt in various ways during his lifetime. 

The foundation’s day-to-day business is run by a board made up of two honorary members and a chief executive.

Individual projects are implemented by a team of staff.

Members of the Board of Trustees

Peer Steinbrück
Chair
 

Giovanni di Lorenzo
© Jim Rakete

Dirk Fischer
© Michael Zapf

Johannes Kahrs

Sandra Maischberger
© Peter Rigaud

Dr. Constanze Stelzenmüller
© Marc Darchinger

Deputies

Niels Annen

Dr. h.c. Edelgard Bulmahn
© Stella von Saldern

Dr. Herlind Gundelach
© Thorsten Wulff

Matthias Naß

Dr. Olaf Schulz-Gardyan
© Michael Zapf

Dr. Martin Willich
© Michael Zapf

Management Board

Dr. Meik Woyke
Chairman of the Management Board and Managing Director
m.woyke@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Dr. Hans-Gerhard Husung
Vice Chairman of the Management Board
h-g.husung@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Bernd Neuendorf
Board Member
b.neuendorf@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Foundation Staff

Thomas Barthel
Head of Administration
t.barthel@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Axel Becker
Receptionist
© Michael Zapf

Manuela Bergner
Housekeeper
m.bergner@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Giulia Berkitz
Office of the Management Board
g.berkitz@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Cécile Busche
Office of the Management Board
c.busche@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Karin Ellermann
Archivist
k.ellermann@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Ekaterina Eylin
Receptionist
© Michael Zapf

Dorothée Falkenberg
Student Assistant
d.falkenberg@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Charlotte Gaitzsch
Receptionist
c.gaitzsch@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Hendrik Heetlage, M.A.
Employee Exhibitions and History
h.heetlage@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Johanna Hofmann
Student Assistant
j.hofmann@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Ulfert Kaphengst
Head of Communication and Media
u.kaphengst@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Dr. Magnus Koch
Head of Exhibitions and History
m.koch@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Isra Mohamed
Student Assistant
i.mohamed@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Lisa Querner
Student Assistant
l.querner@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Julia Raba
Student Assistant
j.raba@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Uta Schlott
Editor Communication and Media
u.schlott@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Patrick Schröder
Receptionist
p.schroeder@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Axel Schuster
Archivist
a.schuster@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Friederike Schülke
Student Assistant
f.schuelke@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Dr. Julia Strasheim
Deputy Managing Director and Program Director for European and International Politics
j.strasheim@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Claudia Strecker
Receptionist
c.strecker@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Philipp Strugholz, M.A.
Eventmanagement
p.strugholz@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Merle Strunk, M.A.
Consultant for Education and Mediation
m.strunk@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Miriam van der Linden, M.A.
Eventmanagement
m.vanderlinden@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Ann-Sophie Weißgerber
Assistant of Communication and Media
a.weissgerber@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Dr. Nina-Kathrin Wienkoop
Program Director Democracy and Society
n.wienkoop@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Elisabeth Winter
Program Director Global Markets and Social Justice
e.winter@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Dr. Johannes Zechner
Curator of Exhibitions
j.zechner@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Sarah Zimmer
Receptionist
s.zimmer@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf

Franziska Zollweg, M.A.
Research Assistant
f.zollweg@remove-this.helmut-schmidt.de
© Michael Zapf